Final reflection

All of the assignments are now created and uploaded and it’s time for a final reflection, as this module has now come to an end.

The main challenges that I’ve encountered while producing the main assignments have, ever since the start, been to determine whether the subject I wanted to write about was newsworthy enough. And, once I actually decided on a subject, the same “problem” emerged once again, yet in a different form – when I was going to prioritize the information I’d gathered.

Through feedback from my tutor, discussing with my classmates and through reading more about the inverted pyramid of journalism, I eventually became a bit more certain of what counts as a newsworthy event or subject and how to prioritize its content properly.

The second problem I encountered was when finding primary sources for my features. Finding and making contact with the proper primary source for a specific article was time consuming. However, sending an extra email or calling the person in question harms no one and in this case it saved the interview with one of the sources.

This module has been very rich of content, fun and straight forward. I have learned so much because, rather than stating what you can do with digital journalism, we’ve learned how to do it. This includes how to work with WordPress, SEO, collecting sources, copyright as well as good tips for social media optimisation. All of this will be so valuable for me in the future.

Leave a comment